“The Library of Shadows” by Mikkel Birkegaard

The Library of Shadows by Mikkel Birkegaard starts with the strange death of bookshop owner Luca Campelli. His son, Jon, who hasn’t seen his father since he was fostered after the suicide of his mother twenty years ago, inherits the shop, but is immediately drawn into the secret society of people who can affect your thoughts and feelings when you read or when they read to you, and somebody is trying to destroy them, his father having been their latest victim, and is soon in a fight for his own life.

When I bought this book a few years ago, it was purely based on the title, and made up the numbers in a three for two offer. Once I got it home, it went on the shelf and I never looked at it again until Friday, when I decided to start it. I didn’t even read the blurb on the back and dove head first into it, so it was a complete surprise to find it was a paranormal thriller! It was a fantastic page turner, and I read the whole book in just over 24 hours – something I haven’t done for quite a while except when I’ve been on holiday. I actually thought that it had the same sort of tone and flavour of a Kelley Armstrong Women of the Otherworld book, but without the focus on a female character.

The first 350 pages, I was absolutely gripped by, but I personally didn’t enjoy the denouement quite as much as the rest of the book, and I thought it was a bit too fantastical. But it was still a cracking read, and the sort of thing I usually love reading on holiday.

Leave a Reply

