Independent Booksellers Week

It’s Independent Booksellers Week from today (30th June 2012) until 7th July 2012, so to show my support, I took a trip to visit my nearest independent book shops and came away with some lovely books:


I know I’m not supposed to be buying books until I’ve finished all the books on my “to be read” shelf, but Mariana by Monica Dickens is a Persephone book and I’m planning a new challenge next year to read all their catalogue, so this was just a future planning purchase while A Monster Calls is as much an illustrated book as a narrative, and warrants a hard copy as an ebook just wouldn’t do it justice.

But the feather in the cap is Clashes of Civilizations Over An Elevator In Piazza Vittorio by Amara Lakhous. The best reasons I’ve found to visit indie book shops is that you find books from small publishers and translated fiction that you rarely see in the national chains or supermarkets, and not only that, but people talk to you about books and you overhear interesting conversations. It’s a win-win situation!

Go on, support your independent book shop this week, otherwise they may not be there when you want them.

Leave a Reply

