“Me Talk Pretty One Day” by David Sedaris

Me Talk Pretty One Day is a collection of autobiographical essays, with the book split into two parts, the first part covering growing up and his life in America, while part deux about his French experiences. Sedaris writes about his childhood and his family, with tales of pets and parents, before going on to some of the various jobs including removals and cleaning, and then after meeting his partner, spending time and moving to France, learning the language and Americans in Paris.

I was nervously worried by how many “Hilarious!” type blurbs were on the cover, as it usually ends up being an omen that the book will not be in the slightest funny, but I actually enjoyed it. It wasn’t laugh out loud funny, but I found a gentle humorous tone running through the pieces, which were easy to read and at times acutely observed. I have to admit, I liked the French essays more than the American ones, but I think that’s because I love reading books about people who move to France to start a new life, and I could identify much more with learning a new language than I could with growing up in the States.

On the whole, an entertaining book and I did enjoy it. I may well look at some of his other books in the future, but I’m not going to be running out to grab them immediately.

Leave a Reply

