“Captivate” by Carrie Jones

[SPOILER ALERT for the previous book in the series Need]

Captivate is the second book in this YA supernatural series about pixies and shape shifters. In the first book Need, teenager Zara is having a tough time after witnessing the death of her beloved stepfather and moves in with her grandmother to try and move on with her life. A mystery involving teenage boys going missing leads Zara to find out that she is the daughter of a Pixie king. She also learns that pixies are not the only supernatural creatures in the world, but shapeshifters in the form of wolves, bears, eagles and tigers exist as well. At the beginning of this second instalment, Zara and her friends are holding her father and his pixies in captivity, but this means her fathers kingdom is weak, and it’s not long before the arrival of another pixie king looking to take over the territory. Zara must find a way to keep herself and her friends safe from the war that is brewing in this supernatural tale.

I have to admit, after I read the first book in the series, I thought I probably wouldn’t bother with any more, but I ended up choosing it as the free book in a 3 for 2 offer. It was okay, but nothing more. The author did surprise me with the direction she took with Zara’s story, as I thought it would be exactly the suspense of how to keep her from the action she ends up taking that would keep the series going, so now I’m sort of intrigued to see the next instalment as well. Having said that, I’ve read a lot of books in this genre since the accursed Twilight saga got it claws (or should that be fangs) into me, and this series ranks very low down on my favourites. There is a third book out now, and a fourth planned, and although I am mildly interested in following it up, I’m not going to be rushing out to buy it at the moment.

Leave a Reply

