“Snobbery With Violence” by M. C. Beaton

At a time when class still rules the country, and women are presented during the season to ensnare suitors and obtain marriage proposals, Lady Rose has ruined her chances by taking part in a Suffragette demonstration which ends up being reported in the national newspapers. When an apparently suitable gentleman takes an interest in her, her father engages the services of Captain Harry Cathcart to find out if the gentleman’s intentions are honourable.

M.C. Beaton writes the Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin books, and I wondered why I’d never come across her Edwardian Murder Mystery series before, but I’ve just been looking into it, and I’ve found out it’s because they were originally published under a pseudonym, Marion Chesney, but the Kindle version I downloaded has been attributed to M.C. Beaton.

As with the Agatha Raisin books, this was light and cheery despite being a murder mystery, and although I did think it was a completely ludicrous melodrama of a mystery, I thoroughly enjoyed it as a humorous Sunday afternoon read. The characters are flawed, she makes fun of all classes of the Edwardian age, and there are enough twists and false to make this a traditional British farce.

There are three other books in the series so far, and I definitely want to find out what happens with Lady Rose and Harry, so I’ll be adding them to my wishlist for when I need some light-hearted, fun reading to cheer me up.

Leave a Reply

