“Fup: A Modern Fable” by Jim Dodge

The story of Grandaddy Jake and his attempt at immortality, his fence building grandson Tiny, and how a twenty pound mallard duck called Fup comes into their life.

An odd little book (less than 100 pages, although I read it on my Kindle, so I had to look up how long it was!) which I read in two sittings of about 45 mins each.

I loved the writing style; it reminded me of films where an elder recalling a fable or fairy tale, but using modern setting and written for grown ups (some swear words and sexual references, though only brief and occasional). The characters come across as genuine and real, and I felt affectionate for them by the end of the book.

Charming and funny, and an entertaining read.

Leave a Reply

