“The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner” by Stephenie Meyer

We first met Bree Tanner for a brief moment at the end of the third of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga, Eclipse but she was obviously an important character to the author, as she had a whole back story worked out for her, which she has now written up in this novella.

I thought it might be a while before I got to read another installment in the Twilight saga (I’m still holding out for the completion of Midnight Sun), and to be honest, I’d convinced myself I wasn’t that bothered by this new story as it wasn’t about our beloved Bella, Edward and Jacob, but couldn’t resist the lure of an especially early opening of Waterstone’s on publication date.

At 178 pages, it’s a quick, easy read, and it does feel like returning home after holiday – you’ve had a great time away reading other things, but it’s lovely to be back with the your own creature comforts. From what I’ve seen of what’s coming in the Eclipse film, I’m guessing Meyer gave this material to the filmmakers, and it rounds out the story nicely.

The story concentrates more on Bree discovering the secrets Riley is keeping from his group of newborns. I enjoyed it, and I loved the characters of Diego and Fred. When the story starts, Bree has already been a vampire for a few months, but personally, I would have liked to see Meyer start the story in Bree’s last day as a human, or in the first few days as a vampire.

Interestingly, Waterstone’s had opened an hour early for the book release and I was expecting to find crowds of teenagers at the bookshop, but it was a very quiet store that I walked into. In fact, the display of books was still pretty full, and I had the whole shop to myself. I didn’t actually arrive until about 8:45am, so perhaps i’d missed them!

2 thoughts on ““The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner” by Stephenie Meyer

  1. this review is brill by the way i have’nt been able to read the book yet as the order from waterstones has not arrived thanks for sharing your comments the thow
    ps how did the read book that quick it only came out yesterday?

Leave a Reply

