“Shiver” by Maggie Stiefvater

Ever since Grace was attacked by the wolves in the woods behind her house, she’s been fascinated by them, especially the one with the yellow eyes, who seems to watch her throughout the winter. That wolf is Sam, a human boy who changes into a wolf as the summer turns to winter every year, running with his pack, living for those few precious, warm summer months when he can be human again.

A return to YA fantasy with a werewolf book this time. I absolutely loved it. Each of the chapters is written from the point of view of one of the two principle characters, so you see the story from each of their perspectives. The connection and the developing relationship between them felt very real and believable, and the sense of growing desperation builds as the story progresses.

I thought the descriptions were very good, and I had a very strong picture in my head of the landscape, the buildings and even the trucks and cars.

The only complaint I have is that the ending felt a little bit rushed, and I’m not sure I was 100% convinced by it, but I enjoyed the rest of the story so much that it didn’t spoil the book for me at all. In fact, I enjoyed it so much, it’s one of the few books from this genre I’ll be keeping to read again.

Leave a Reply

