“Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again … the famous first line of Rebecca gives you an enticing glimpse of what it to come in this story of a young woman who in her first job as a companion, meets Maxim de Winter, and soon finds herself married to the widower and mistress of the house – Manderley. But the house holds the secrets of Maxim’s first wife, Rebecca, and the ghost of their marriage haunts the new Mrs de Winter, never allowed to forget her husband’s past by the sinister housekeeper, Mrs Danvers.

Initially, it took me a while to get used to, as it’s quite dense prose in a style that was contemporary to the period when it was written, but after a few chapters I got used to it and was not only finding it easier to read, but I was completely gripped. The story is riveting and I was sure I could see what was happening and where it was going, but there was a revelation at the end of chapter 19 that left me reeling and the story suddenly took off in a whole new direction I was not expecting.

A compelling read. I will definitely be looking to read more du Maurier in the future.

Leave a Reply

