“Guilty Pleasures” by Laurell K. Hamilton

Anita Blake is an animator – she can raise the dead from their graves – but that’s just a job. Since the vampires were granted equal rights, she is now known by them as “The Executioner”, a vampire hunter who tracks down and kills those rogue bloodsuckers who murder their human victims. But now it’s not just the humans who are preyed upon, a serial killer is targeting vampires, and the most powerful one in the city insists Anita must find the murderer.

I was a bit dubious about this series, as I’d seen some differing opinions, but decided I would borrow it from the library and make my own mind up. Fortunately, I was not disappointed. I thought the character of Anita Blake was interesting enough to keep me reading, and I liked the tone of the book as well. I like Anita’s attitude and sense of humour, although I’m a bit worried about the level of violence and while it wasn’t enough to put me off so far, it will be something I’ll keep an eye out for in future books.

While I don’t think it’s as good as the Kelley Armstrong books, it was a good start to a new supernatural series fro me, and I’m going to keep going with them to see how they progress.

Leave a Reply

