“Blue Moon” by Alyson Noël

I’m not sure what I expected from this second book in Alyson Noël’s series, The Immortals, as I’d been a bit underwhelmed but the first one which I felt was predictable and derivative, although reasonably enjoyable. I have to admit though, I was pleasantly surprised. The plot took a slightly different direction from the first book with Ever taking more control of her destiny as she is faced with more peril watching Damen weaken and distance himself from her. This meant Ever’s character developed into a more independent and strong individual. There were some unexpected developments in some of the other characters and some who I’d expected to have a larger role in the story were sidelined, allowing the focus on the heroine to remain the centre of the story.

There is still a problem in that the book is still firmly standing in the shadow of Twilight, but for an easy Sunday read, it was entertaining enough, and it looks as though I’ll be coming back for the next instalment of the story.

Leave a Reply

