“A Touch of Dead” by Charlaine Harris

This books is a collected anthology of short stories about Sookie Stackhouse, the heroine of Harris’s Southern Vampire series.

This book was a quick and easy read, but for true Sookie fans only I’m afraid, as it’s a hardback book, s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d to 208 pages, with a large typeface, big spacing, blank pages, a title page for each story plus a double page illustration at the start of each one, it did smack of publishing a book just to make money.

The stories themselves were entertaining enough, but overall, I found them unsatisfying, and I even felt the reveal in the conclusion of the story “Giftwrap” was slightly sickening. I’m very glad I borrowed my copy from the library and didn’t spend my hard earned cash on it, as I think it was poor value for money, and only for those who want to collect the entire Southern Vampire series.

Leave a Reply

